Best price guarantee
GBP
0
Tour Operator: Brit Movie Tours 1h 45m Travel method:   Other / Non-Travel Region / Starts from: Oxford

Morse, Lewis & Endeavour Tour of Oxford • Private

Visit the pubs and streets familiar to the famous Oxford detectives.

Duration

1 hour 45 minutes

About

"On this guided Morse Tour of Oxford the old city is the backdrop to the on-screen escapades enjoyed by audiences across the globe since the 1980s. Your guide will share fascinating historical information about the colleges, pubs, streets, houses and other places familiar to Morse and his fellow detectives, as well as interesting anecdotes on how the show and characters were developed.

To many, Oxford has long been associated with its famous University. However, for fans of Inspector Morse, Lewis and Endeavour it is the murder capital of the world, where homicide, corruption and vice run rife.

The City of Oxford has been the setting not only for the Inspector Morse books and TV series, but also its spin-offs – Lewis and Endeavour. On the Inspector Morse Tour of Oxford with Lewis and Endeavour Sites, you will be able to take a closer investigation into the world of author Colin Dexter’s famous detective creation.

Although the tour route varies slightly each week depending on which colleges are open, you will get to see locations familiar to Morse, Lewis and Hathaway. Many scenes have been filmed in the heart of the old city where the tour starts, including places like The Randolph Hotel, the White Horse pub and Broad Street to name but a few of the most popular locations.

You will get to visit the actual locations from the series, including a visit to one of the colleges* used in the show, hear fascinating historical information about the old city of Oxford and go behind the scenes of Inspector Morse."

More info

  • See some of the Oxford colleges used as fictional locations or inspirations in Morse, Endeavour and Lewis
  • See filming locations also featured in episodes of Lewis and Endeavour
  • Get an overview of the many pubs where Morse enjoyed a drink of English real ale
  • Learn how author Colin Dexter created the character and where he got his inspiration from
Best price guarantee
No hidden costs
Important information
Know Before You Go
About this ticket:

Only print this if you do not have a mobile or tablet device to display it. Your guide will have your booking details. No tickets are sent in the post. THIS IS YOUR TICKET.


Amending your tour date:

At least 48 hours advance notice is required to change your tour date.


Clothing:

Please wear comfortable shoes and clothing as the tour goes ahead rain or shine.


Accessibility:

Regrettably, we are unable to permit wheelchair users on the public tour, owing to uneven surfaces, steps and restrictions around the university precinct. Guides reserve the right to refuse admission to parties arriving with a wheelchair for the health and safety of the user, their party and the public group.


Dogs

No dogs are allowed (except guide dogs). If a dog is brought along on tour we may have to turn the customer away as they can disturb the tour


Where to stay:

If you need to book a hotel we recommend booking.com or the Premier Inn


Travelling to Oxford by train:

Oxford can easily be reached by train. Make sure you book your tickets in advance through the trainline website.


Travel Insurance:

In an uncertain world you may wish to get cheap, fast and fair travel insurance. We recommend All Clear Travel Insurance - click here


Send us your pics and a video review for a chance to win a Free Tour

If we use your pictures or video review you’ll win a pair of free tickets to one of our London walking tours.


- Great pictures on tour - Share your best pics with us by either posting them online and using the hashtag #britmovietours or by emailing them to social@britmovietours.com


- Video Review – Share a video review of our tour by sending it using Facebook Messenger to Brit Movie Tours. The video would need to be filmed in landscape orientation and last approx. 30-40 seconds. The sound needs to be clear and include your name and where you’re from, name of the tour, guides name and why you enjoyed the tour.


Good to Know:

  • The tour lasts approximately 1 hour and 45 minutes

  • Please arrive at the meeting point at least 10 minutes prior to the tour departure time. The meeting point is at the main entrance of the Ashmolean Museum, Beaumont Street at the top of the steps where you will see your guide waiting for you.

  • The tour finishes at the same place it started

  • Because all of the colleges are academic and/ or religious establishments, they reserve the right to close for events on any day and at any time, sometimes at very short notice. However, please rest assured that, if college access is ever restricted, your guide will endeavour to ensure you still enjoy the best possible Morse experience.

Choose Date of Travel


Best price guarantee

BOOK NOW